Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 9th, 2010

pictures

For your entertainment I would like to post a few out-takes from our photo session that was supposed to culminate in our annual Chinese New Year greeting card. It is really nice not having to worry about getting a “Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!!” card in December. We always get a few weeks more to putter around, procrastinate, postpone the stress and frenzy of digging out addresses and deciding who gets on “the list”, ha. (I know, you want to stab me, or at least slap me.)

So R had the brilliant idea to corral the girls into the Radio Flyer wagon so Lyra-Lightning-feet will not run off and stuff her cheeks with pebbles/grass/weed/dirt/sticks or whatevers. I guess the idea sort of work… here are a few of the out-takes:

Lyra the prisoner tries to escape while her sister tries to prevent it.

And since trying to climb out of the wagon did not work, Lyra tried to eat her way out of the wagon…

And when eating the wagon did not work either, she resorted to attacking her sister, demanding that she be let out, or else!!

::

At some point, inevitably, I started to think of my life as an out-take, myself as an out-take, the stillbirth as an out-take. They were just all wrong, but not funny or silly. They just should not have happened.

So someone asked me recently, “I have yet to see a decent picture of you?”

Hmph.

The thing is, there are no pictures of me, let alone decent. I just have not enjoyed having my pictures taken. I also do not have a good photographer. I mean, R is a good photographer, but he is very technically driven. He is all about the aperture and shutter speed and wavelength and all that crap. When I asked him about the photo session he said betw 4 to 415 pm because that’s when the light was going to be the best. Now, I am all about the framing and mood and spontaneity. I don’t care if not everyone is looking straight at the camera and smiling. So anyways, if he takes a picture of me, I will be smiling but by the time he has all the settings adjusted to his satisfaction, the smile has evaporated. So I don’t have to smile either. But then I will look haggard/old/wicked and I have a double chin, yuck.

But despair not, my friends, one day you will see me. I am calling about the Botox and the new miracle diet and one day I will be presentable. In the meantime, use your imagination. (Just kidding!)

I hope the out-takes bring you some smiles.

Read Full Post »